Storyline – World of Warcraft

So I was really excited to play WoW today, I have not played in a couple of weeks due to being busy with Wildstar.

I set the game to download last night, as I did not have it on my laptop since I needed to replace my hard drive, and I expected it to be done downloading by the time I got up.

But no, ofc it wasn’t done. My internet went down as soon as I went to bed last night so I have not downloaded anything. The damn router needed a reset so that didn’t happen until I noticed the internet was down when I got up today.

But I was able to create a character, which I wanted, and logged in. The game is downloading in the background though so it’s not optimal. It took ages for me to log in because it needed to download the area I was going to be in, but at least the starter zone is working.

Reason I was eager to make a new character, which btw is a warrior, is because I wanted to test out a new addon.

I saw someone retweet a tweet about an addon yesterday, I think it was Alternative Chat, the addon is called Storyline. Some of you might have heard of it, but I had not and it looked very nice.

This addon aims to enhance the readability and immersion when questing in World of Warcraft. It adds a brand new quest frame, with animated models and fancy effects.

Storyline provides a new quest frame, that panel appearing when you get a quest from a NPC. World of Warcraft UI improved over the years but one thing Blizzard never touched is this hideous Quest frame. We wanted to have a quest frame inspired by the garrison frames dynamism.

Storyline frame adds 3D animated models for you and your quest giver. Also it “cuts” the dialogue into multiple parts, playing one after another in an old-school RPG style. Finally it adds more effects and visuals to express objectives and rewards.

I just downloaded it and gave it a test, and yes, I love it.

WoWScrnShot_090115_142413

The models (your character and npc) ย moves, making gestures with their hands when they talk, sometimes I even jump when delivering a a quest. The quest text gets chopped up to smaller pieces, making it easier to read and follow. I get pretty easily bored of walls of text on my quests, so this makes it a lot easier for me to follow the text and a lot more fun. Why was this not implemented earlier? Well, some people might actually not like it, so that is fair, but I wish there was an option like this earlier though. I hope this will help me follow the quests a lot more, and get into the lore as I never have been able to earlier. Which is why I made a new character as well.

You can re-size the “box” as much as you like, making it fill the whole screen if you wish, or you can make it smaller. It even has the option to show French text, instead of English, if you need that.

It shows you the quest objective, like you see on the first image, you see what you need to kill with a little image on the side.,

When you deliver the quest, you can see the option of loot, obviously, else it would be silly. But I just think it all looks a lot nicer this way.

WoWScrnShot_090115_143355

WoWScrnShot_090115_144056

I really think this addon will enhance my leveling experience a lot, and I hope the developers of it will continue on it.

If you want more info on the addon there is also a Youtube video on it.

Addon can be found on Curse.com and Curseforge.com

And as I said, I made a new character, a warrior named Lanalu. I wanted to have a tank on the server I am playing on, and I think warrior is the one I will try to level up. I really do enjoy tanking from time to time, just not in raids. 5 man tanking is enough for me, and it’s really fun. I feel confident enough to tank in smaller groups, it’s when the raids come I get spooked. So expect some post about my journey as a tank as well.

Pictures – I am not quite sure what she is looking at, but it must be something amazing, perhaps she is amazed by this wonderful addon, thinking it’s some sort of God, doing wonderful things for her, like putting her in a box with an npc?

LANALU WARRIOR WOW WARRIOR LANALU WOW

Thanks yall, Missy.

6 thoughts on “Storyline – World of Warcraft

      1. Yeah your mood has a lot to say. I thought Hyjal would be one of the places that were actually good haha. Well you can see how much attention I have given to the story ๐Ÿ˜›

        Like

Leave a Reply

