A new hobby

Last night, I tried playing some Wildstar but after a while I found myself bored. I’ve not played much in the last month because I’m just not into it right now. I want to play, but when I do play any games I just want to log off.

So what did I end up doing ? Well, drawing O.o
I’ve never really been much of an artist heh. I didn’t draw much growing up, didn’t draw at all at high-school , cause I’ve never been interested or any good at it. I drew stick people, stick people in war, people killing each other, jumping in parachutes , throwing grenades. Those kinds of drawings, I’m sure there are some other souls out there who did that.

Anyways the urge came over me last night, I think it triggered from seeing some drawings on a blog —-> ย Ramblings of a MMO gamer guy
And there are many people on twitter who draws. They use photoshop and stuff though, and are amazing at coloring , shading and all that stuff.

I on the other hand, am not. As I said, I don’t really draw, but since the urge came upon me I decided to give it ago. And I thought “Hmmm what should I draw, it can’t be something to difficult cause then I will just give up in ย no time.”
So I ended up with a manga styled face. It’s one of the easiest things to draw and I love anime’s/ manga’s.

I started with the eye.
The eyes is for me the most beautiful thing about this style of drawing, and all the expressions they can make. It’s not that difficult to make an eye as a beginner, but there is a huge different from someone like me and someone who is good at it.


After the eye I tried a new one, I decided it would be best if I didn’t draw the face, facing me. That would be more difficult for me, so I ended up with her looking at me a bit from the side. And tada, some sort of face.



She had to have hair though and that was difficult. So I just scrambled up some lines in hopes of it resembling hair. I shall look up some methods on how I can draw some better hair later because there is way easier way to draw hair then this heh. She ended up looking like this. She is lacking eyebrows though so I have to draw that in. And her chin, it was messed up here, that I have fixed now as I can see it very clearly.

So that was how I ended up spending my evening. And you know I really did enjoy myself. It’s something that can become a nice hobby. I do hope I have the discipline to continue doing this. Maybe try to draw an hour a day or something, if I do that I can probably see a lot of improvements in a year. Would be very fun to find a thing I was good at, that I truly loved. And drawing is a thing many people can appreciate I think. I could draw things for other peoples blogs and get some equipment so I could draw on the computer. Ahh dem dreams, it’s nice to have a dream ๐Ÿ™‚ย 

It’s not something spectacular, but learning to draw takes many many years, but it is a start.


So I hope, in the future, to be drawing more, and putting them out on my blog so you can see me improving. I mean, in one year, I gotta have learned a few tricks right ?
10 thoughts on “A new hobby

  1. For someone who is no good at drawing, that's pretty amazing!

    I am insanely jealous of everyone who can create art, whether it be drawing, music, film or whatever, as I have never been able to do any of that. I look forward to seeing how your skills improve over time!

    Like

  2. I haven't really been able to have anything I'm good at either, ive tried dabbling on a keyboard, but don't have the patience. Which is why I want to try drawing regularly, so I can become good at something ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

